24hr Support Line 0800 6300 443
7 December 2023


Epsom’s finest racing achievements and highlights of 2023 were celebrated at the racecourse on Saturday 2nd December at a black-tie dinner and awards evening. The annual Epsom Owners’ and Trainers’ Awards, organised by Racing Welfare and sponsored by The Racehorse Owners Association, brought together 232 members of the local racing community.

It proved to be an evening to remember for Adam West, who received the Sir David Prosser Trophy for the trainer with the most wins in a calendar year, before his Group 1 winning Nunthorpe superstar and fourth placed Breeders’ Cup Sprint runner Live In The Dream took the titles of Best Turf Horse and the coveted Horse of the Year Award, much to the delight of his owners Steve & Jolene De’Lemos.

Simon Dow also had an exceptional evening, scooping no less than four awards, two of which were attributable to consistent all-weather campaigner Recuerdame who notched up five wins over the past year and a number of placings. The seven-year-old therefore landed the Best All-Weather Performer and Horse With the Most Wins. The special recognition award went to the broodmare Seasonal Cross formerly trained by Simon, now dam of three-time 2023 winner Ectocross and one-time 2023 winner Roman Tempest, owned and bred by Malcolm and Alicia Aldis. McLoven completed the four-timer for Simon, earning the Best Two-Year Old title.

Away from the equine achievements, Epsom racecourse employee Amy Bone won the Stanley Wootton award which recognises outstanding contribution by an individual to Epsom both as a training and racing centre. Amy was chosen because of her far-reaching impact looking after owners and trainers, leading the integration between the racecourse and training community and managing the office.

Meanwhile, Jim Boyle’s head person Louisa Allen won the Dedication to Racing Award, having been a big part of Jim’s South Hatch Stables for some 20 years. He said: “She wears many hats in the racing world, including being the area representative for NARS, the stable staff association, and has recently become a jockey coach ambassador, assisting many local youngsters in progressing their riding skills. There wouldn’t be anyone involved in the racing industry in Epsom who wouldn’t know Louisa, and we are thrilled that her contribution to the racing industry is being recognised with this award.”

As well as serving to recognise and celebrate the local racing community which is such an integral part of the town, the awards ceremony also raised around £15,000 in crucial funds for organisers Racing Welfare – the industry’s human welfare charity, which has a dedicated presence in the area. The event would not be possible without the support of the ROA for their headline sponsorship, all of the individual award sponsors, Jockey Club Catering for the champagne reception and champagne raffle prizes, Epsom Racecourse and finally to presenters Hayley Moore and Mattie Batchelor.


For the full list of winners, please see below

Stanley Wootton Award sponsored by Epsom Racecourse – Amy Bone

Sir David Prosser Trophy sponsored by Orbital Veterinary Services – Adam West

Special Recognition Award sponsored by RaceTech – Seasonal Cross & Simon Dow

Dedication to Racing sponsored by Racing Welfare – Louisa Allen

Best Two-Year-Old sponsored by ROA VAT – Mc Loven & Simon Dow

Best Three-Year-Old sponsored by Shotter & Byers – Rocking Ends & Brett Johnson

Best Older Horse sponsored by Moss Electrical – Bad Company & Jim Boyle

Best Turf Horse sponsored by J&J Franks – Live In The Dream & Adam West

All-Weather Performer sponsored by All-Weather Championship – Recuerdame & Simon Dow

Horse with the most wins sponsored by Fat Jockey Partnership – Recuerdame & Simon Dow

Most Improved Handicapper sponsored by Rightsure – Devizes & Pat Phelan

Horse of the Year sponsored by ROA – Live In The Dream & Adam West